New Site (update)

[Update, June 27th – the spam blocker is quite impressive, so comment moderation is now off]

A move to WordPress had been planned for a while – the blog up to the end of May had 10,000 visits and just under 20,000 page views so it was time….    Although comments have moved too, commenter’s URLs have disappeared – as there aren’t that many it might be doable to put them in manually in a spare hour.

Of course having moved, work and a period of travel got in the way of improvements and new postings, so there will be ongoing improvement for a while.  Comments welcome.

Initial comments per person need to go through moderation, after first approval subsequent comments should post imediately unless there are more than four hyperlinks or the spam filter takes a dislike to the content.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Site (update)

  1. oneillp says:

    Congratulations on the successful transfer. Glad to see the printer-friendly theme right from the start. Just watch for wide images or tables near the top of a post. They print fine but encroach on the sidebar on screen. Some of the other themes, such as those used at Climate Audit and The Blackboard, are a real pain when I want to print something. At least for me, this entails opening the page in Google Chrome as neither FireFox nor Internet Explorer handle printing satisfactorily for those themes. And then if I only want to print selected pages, I have to first print to a pdf file as Chrome does not have a print preview!

    • Verity Jones says:

      Actually transfer was easy although a few minor things still need worked out. Thanks for the tip about printing. There is so much useful stuff in the archives at Climate Audit and yes I’ve had trouble printing it too.

      I did choose carefully, and it is no surprise that a lot of blogs use the same themes (apart from imitation being the sincerest form of flattery). The first one I choose looked familar but I didn’t realise why initially; turns out it is the one used by Jeff Id for the Air Vent. That theme lost out as the text size was a bit smaller than I wanted. I also liked the theme used by Science of Doom and Chiefio, but the narrow page width decided me against it. After I chose this one I realised you too had used it and I think also it is the new theme at WUWT.

  2. intrepid_wanders says:

    Yeah, it is the “twentyten” theme, but it is SO much better to view than the old ones. I think you will have no trouble sprucing to your liking.

  3. unionlemn says:

    how are you doing?

    I just found diggingintheclay.wordpress.com and I’m looking forward to hanging out here.

    See you soon

    ____________________________________________
    Windsor Dentists

  4. kevinditc says:

    unionlemn

    Thanks for popping over here.

    Verity and I are working on a number of threads that you’ll hopefully find very interesting. They should be published very shortly.

    If you are new here and are intereste din what NOAA/GISS do with the historic temperature data, may I recommend the following threads

    https://diggingintheclay.wordpress.com/2010/01/18/mapping-global-warming/

    https://diggingintheclay.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/the-station-drop-out-problem/

    https://diggingintheclay.wordpress.com/2009/12/22/physically-unjustifiable-noaa-ghcn-adjustments/ [note this is offline untill updated as many links do not work]

    If you have any questions, just ask and we’ll attempt to give you an answer.

Comments are closed.