The Chosen Few – Climategate 2.0

Updated below – apparent timelines added
Update 2 – JoNova’s blog time corrected
Update 3 (23rd Nov) – revised timeline – motive for choice of sites now clear.

Climategate 2.0 – it’s old news now, but this one will run and run (we all hope).  Who got the link? WUWT, Climate Audit, the Air Vent as before and this time too Tallbloke’s Talkshop and JoNova. Anyone else?

Well…. we got one here too – link with an IP address in Russia (the same one as the comment left at WUWT).

I happened to check the blog at lunchtime, something I almost never do. According to the site stats one person had followed the link, but that was all.  Not knowing what else to do after the furore last time, I took it off-line until I had time to look into it. By the time I’d got home it was all over the blogosphere.  Why here? No idea, perhaps the links with WUWT, but thanks for the gift FOIA. Just came on a bad day for me.

In fact it couldn’t have come at a worse time from a work viewpoint (even over and above the lightweight blogging of the last few months). I’ll allow myself some time to peruse and enjoy at the weekend. Until then I have to resist; by then all the good stuff will be out.

Just wonderful though! Thanks ‘FOIA’.

UPDATE – The time lines seem to be:

WUWT November 22, 2011 at 1:02 am (California = 9:02 GMT)

JoNova November 22, 2011 at 7:08 pm (Perth = 11:08 GMT) (Aust EST = 09:08 GMT)

The Air Vent November 22, 2011 at 5:08 am (Michigan = 10:08 = 09:08 GMT)

Climate Audit Nov 22, 2011 at 4:09 AM | Permalink (Canada, Eastern = 09:09 GMT)

Tallbloke’s November 22, 2011 at 9:28 am (GMT)

WUWT second comment November 22, 2011 at 1:34 am (PST – 09:34 GMT)

“moderator can you acknowledge if you get the file ok, thanks”

DITC November 22, 2011 at 9:44 am (GMT)

Update 2: the order is now corrected as JoNova’s blog is on EST.  This was posted in haste late last night so I may have other times wrong too.  I’m still puzzled at being included.

Update 3 (23rd Nov) : Damn I knew I had the Air Vent time wrong. I was tired and thinking visually and ‘Michigan’ was the first name that jumped out when I was checking time zones.  Of course Jeff’s in Chicago, IL. Duh!

Having just posted a comment at the Air Vent tonight, Jeff’s blog is 4 hours behind GMT (not 5, or even 6), so that puts the comment on his site at the same time as JoNova’s (the blog times won’t be synchronous).  20 Minutes later, a comment on Tallbloke’s site, then a further post at WUWT with note to the moderator (Tallbloke moderates there) then another copy here 10 minutes later (I’m another moderator, so that explains my question of why here). Unfortunately I’m up to my eyes in the day job at that time on weekdays and only moderate evenings and weekends.

This entry was posted in News, Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Chosen Few – Climategate 2.0

  1. Verity, your timeline is interesting.
    Last time, Warren Meyer was also contacted, but this time, nada.

    I’m really proud of the fact that I have had some strong or formative personal link with all the bloggers except for WUWT and CA – but I peruse both of those blogs daily anyway.

  2. Anthony Watts says:

    Congrats on being selected. You live in the village of the damned now.
    😉

  3. tallbloke says:

    Verity, thanks, interesting timeline. The link was dropped on a fresh post at the talkshop. Maybe ‘foia’ was looking for skeptical blogs which had fresh posts so his comment with the link would appear near the top of the page. This would be understandable given the tardy discovery on CA and WUWT last time round.

    Or maybe ‘foia’ thinks our blogs are great, have credibility and is a frequent lurker… 😉

  4. Pascvaks says:

    And here I thought Foia had broken into the Beeb, downloaded their most sensitive files, and that there was going to be something really revealing to speak of after you translated them for us. Take care Kiddo! London, Washington, Moscow, and Paris will be following you and taking pictures for at least the next week or two. 😉

    PS: From the look of it, who got “it” and when, Foia is toast. The Bobbies will be on him/her in no time. This may be bigger than the NewsCorp hearings.

  5. KevinUK says:

    Verity,

    Does this me that you and I can expect a knock on our doors shortly from the Mets ‘Extremism Unit’? Perhaps is time for me to issue the immortal words ‘I’m Spartacus’. After all it looks like FOIA visits exactly the same blogs as I do daily. FOIA missed off Lucia’s Blackboard and Lubos’s The Reference Frame from my daily blog list though.

  6. Verity Jones says:

    @Lucy,
    I suspected I’d got some of the times wrong and checking tonight that makes better sense. It’s been a funny two years. In 2009 I was off work (ill? I can’t remember) and watched it all unfold, but I’d just started blogging then. Who’da thunk two years later….

    @Anthony,
    I was surprised, but it makes sense now. And I thought I managed to keep a low profile as a moderator.

    @tallbloke,
    I like your second explanation 😉

    @Pascvaks,
    now that would have been interesting

    @Kevin,
    I suspect this time they’ll realise we bloggers know nothing, besides you know my level of technical skill with computers!

  7. Bloke down the pub says:

    Take care when you stick your head above the parapet.

  8. Anteros says:

    Congratulations on being deemed a worthy recipient Verity.

    Does it mean I have to watch my back when I visit your blog? Dark glasses? Wig?

    It’s been a good few days, and AGW [particularly the C version] is still conspicuous by its absence. Keep enjoying the interglacial !

  9. tonyb says:

    Verity Jones and KevinUK? Never heard of them…

    tonyb

  10. John F. Hultquist says:

    KevinUK says:
    November 23, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    “FOIA missed off Lucia’s Blackboard and Lubos’s The Reference Frame”

    Either of these folks would have the skills but also the smarts to post to their own site. Would they not?

    • Verity Jones says:

      I’ll be interesting to see how the police approach it this time. They probably realise the recipient bloggers last time knew nothing prior to the posting of the links. My awareness of what happened that day is already set out above. Not sure I can add much. If I do get an email asking me to contact the investigation team, I’ve nothing to keep from them.

      Interestingly almost all my email traffic has stopped (does that mean I’m now a social pariah in the skeptic community that no-one wants to be associated with? Nah, probably just the time of year with Thanksgiving and Christmas looming everyone’s too busy)

  11. Pingback: Hits and Misses for the week of November 20-26 | Watts Up With That?

  12. Pingback: Hits and Misses for the week of November 20-26 | TaJnB | TheAverageJoeNewsBlogg

  13. Pingback: The Chosen Few – Climategate 2.0 | Cranky Old Crow

  14. pouncer says:

    “It’ll be interesting to see how the police approach it this time.”

    I consider the proliferation of suspects at Steve’s:
    http://climateaudit.org/2011/12/02/climategate-2-0-the-cause/#comment-314624

    Is there some reason for the police to assume a “lone leaker” — or is the new version of the data re-leaked, perhaps from the whitewash bucket?

  15. tallbloke says:

    The rozzers haven’t been along to feel my collar yet, this time round. I got interviewd in early 2010.

  16. Ed Caryl says:

    Verity,
    Some observations:
    From the timeline: FOIA is in the UK or somewhere east. (Or a night-owl)
    From the use of the word “get” instead of the word got: FOIA’s first language is not English.
    From use of a Russian server: Russian? Chinese? If either, they will never get him/her.
    Didn’t Wikileaks use Russian servers (among others)? Aren’t those guys currently unemployed?

  17. Verity Jones says:

    Ed,
    you mean the second comment left at WUWT reposted above. I don’t think we can infer too much from that. Substitute ‘when’ for ‘if’ and ‘get’ makes sense rather than ‘got’. If it is an error it only betrays possible pressure/anxiousness.

    In fact ‘if’ and ‘get’ may betray their actual meaning, not an alternate mother tongue… If FOIA can’t tell who exactly downloads before the link is taken down (I don’t know if it was meant to expire after X downloads, if it was only live for a defined period, or they didn’t want to leave it live for long), there is the possibility that readers, not those connected with the blog, have downloaded it – they want to be sure someone on the ‘inside’ of WUWT gets the files, not just a commenter. Suppose at the time of writing the second comment, there had been very few downloads, perhaps even the comment had not yet been approved on WUWT… The comment then makes perfect sense as it is.

    The ‘Readme’ file was in good English. Also note the use of the word ‘chitchat’ (as in “[[[redacted: chitchat]]]” in two emails – 0021.txt and 0038.txt). I would not necessarily expect someone for whom English is a second language to bother to remove idle chatter (there’s a lot they have left in), and if they did I can think of terms they might more readily use, other than ‘chitchat’. Points to a native English speaker for me.

  18. Verity

    Chitchat also has relevance to a Mac user.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ChitChat

    Which opens up all sorts of other conspiracy theories…

    tonyb

Comments are closed.