Quote of the day

 “The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser men so full of doubts.” (Bertrand Russell).

Well ain’t that so.

This entry was posted in Quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quote of the day

  1. j ferguson says:

    I’d submit (from first hand experience) that it is also possible to be an uncertain fool. I don’t think Russell’s observation excludes that possibility, though.

  2. Bloke down the pub says:

    One of my countless character flaws is that I will over-state certainty when putting forward a point of view. It’s unfortunate, but a fact of life, that if you don’t have confidence in your view point, you’ll never convince anyone else. On occasion the bluff might be called, but as a rule it works. When you practice it yourself, it becomes easier to spot it in others, maybe a case of fools seldom differ.

    • j ferguson says:

      Forgive me. Why would you want to convince someone of a view with which you lack confidence? (must be a more economical way to say this, but it’s late here in the colonies).

      • Bloke down the pub says:

        I didn’t say I lacked confidence, in fact I said you need confidence to stand a chance of convincing someone else. I am, however, aware that the easiest person to fool is yourself.

      • gallopingcamel says:

        Are you in Florida? I was hoping to meet you somewhere. I live on a golf course.

        This week I have been teaching at Georgia Southern University but I will be back in Rockledge, Florida on Saturday, March 15.

        You can email me at “info@gallopingcamel.info”.

  3. Verity Jones says:

    The relvance to CAGW in this quote is that those who promote it are certain and are telling us the science is settled. The true scientists see the uncertainty, and their voices are not heard.

    • craigm350 says:

      Along similar lines and pertinent to CAGW
      It is in the admission of ignorance and the admission of uncertainty that there is a hope for the continuous motion of human beings in some direction that doesn’t get confined, permanently blocked, as it has so many times before in various periods in the history of man. / Richard P. Feynman
      🙂

    • gallopingcamel says:

      The idea that [CO2] drives global temperature is beyond absurd but governments around the world insist that it is so.

      In the USA, the CAGW lie survives because 90% of our citizens attend schools that are controlled by the government. In Nazi Germany or Soviet Russia it made sense for the state to dominate K-12 education. So how can one justify government domination of education in a country where the state is supposed to serve the people?

  4. tom0mason says:

    Was Bertrand Russell utterly certain when he made this comment. I have my doubts.

    🙂

Comments are closed.