The Sustainability Redemption

While watching an old favourite last night, it occurred to me that, with small changes, one scene suited a modern take:

Man in Suit: Sir, your files say you’ve worked hard to align your business with our new global principles. Do you feel your business is now sustainable?

Small Business Owner: Sustainable? Well, now let me see. You know, I don’t have any idea what that means.

Man in Suit: Well, it means that you’re ready to operate without being a net drain on society…

Small Business Owner: I know what you think it means, sonny. To me, it’s just a made up word. A politician’s word, so young fellas like yourself can wear a suit and a tie, and have a job. What do you really want to know? Am I happy to see my business constrained by this new way of thinking?

Man in Suit: Well, are you?

Small Business Owner  – pauses, thinking. He sighs, resigned: Well it’s the future

[He wants to say: There’s not a day goes by I don’t feel regret.  Sustainable? It’s just a bullshit word. So you go on and stamp your form, sonny, and stop wasting my time. Because to tell you the truth, I don’t give a shit.]

I guess Mr Auditor in a smart suit packs up with a self-satisfied smile and drives away in his Prius.

This entry was posted in Environmentalism, Humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sustainability Redemption

  1. LOL, nice one, Verity … and welcome back to the land of the bloggerati 😉

  2. Jacob Klee says:

    Nice to have you back! 🙂

  3. Verity Jones says:

    Thank you both. Actually it is good to write again. I’ve missed it – and missed everybody.

  4. Man in Suit: Well, it means that you’re ready to operate without being a net drain on society…

    If there is “Net Drain on Society” you can safely ignore the small business owner. The net drain is coming form the “Man in Suit” who works for the gumment.

Comments are closed.